Hot Off the Press: Vegetarian Meat LP, Fat Creeps, Buffalo Tooth, SW/MM/NG

various artists vegetarian meat compilation lp stolen body records 2014

Hot Off the Press this week: Stolen Body Records in the UK delivers a brand new compilation entitled Vegetarian Meat, Fayetteville, AR quintet SW/MM/NG drop their new LP Feel Not Bad (Old Flame Records), Boston-based duo FAT CREEPS have a new LP Must Be Nice (Sophomore Lounge), and BUFFALO TOOTH from San Francisco releases their debut album Gardeners of the Devil’s Lettuce (Captcha Records).

Various Artists: Vegetarian Meat Complation: Stolen Body Records has put together a compilation of bands from the UK, France and USA and they’re calling it Vegetarian Meat. It’s the first in what the label hopes to be a long line of compilation records, coming on blue vinyl with red splatter. Tracklisting boasts a killer list of bands including Dusty Mush, Travel Check, Heaters, Taos Humm, Pain Dimension, Factotum, and Os Noctàmbulos (with a mix of tracks that may or may not appear on previous releases). Originally planned as a Record Store Day 2014 release, the album never made it to the plant in time, but it’s day has finally come – buy the album directly from Stolen Body Records on September 8th.


Sophomore Lounge Records is dropping a new LP from Fat Creeps. Must Be Nice is loaded with 10 tracks that are ripe with jarring guitars, bright, breathy vocals and crashing rhythms. Streaming above, “He Comes in Loudly” is an obvious highlight. It’s bursting with a variety of elements, including glowing guitar waves, pleasant vocal interplay and wonky bass lines. They create a driving and angular sound in one effortless shot, providing us with a truly infectious song that’s reminiscent of Grass Widow or Warpaint. You can get the LP from Sophomore Lounge now.

BUFFALO TOOTHGardeners of the Devil’s Lettuce LP:

Released by Captcha Records in California, Gardeners of the Devil’s Lettuce is the debut LP from San Francisco trio Buffalo Tooth. The LP comes limited to 500 pieces on black and white splatter vinyl, containing a hot mess of speedy, metal-tinged punk and 70’s-flavored rock fueled by relentless fuzz guitars. Grab the LP from Captcha on September 30th as long as your heart can take it!

SW/MM/NGFeel Not Bad LP:

Released on August 26th, SW/MM/NG drop their debut LP Feel Not Bad on Old Flame Records. It’s loaded with nine tracks of jangly guitar pop, led by the bright crooning of Brian Kupillas. “Younger” comes with some surf-y tones, not to mention the pleasant vibe of a sun-drenched beach day. You can listen to a full stream of the LP right here, then snag the vinyl on the 26th.

Related Posts:

Travel Check – $66 7″ EP (Howlin’ Banana)

Travel Check – Wild Tropics 7″ (Howlin’ Banana)

Find Travel Check in our Top Thirty 7″ Records of 2013

Dusty Mush – s/t EP (Howlin’ Banana)

Pain Dimension – Brainwash 7″ (Requiem Pour un Twister/ Croque Macadam)

Hot Off the Press: Os Noctambulos – Corsica Gardens LP (Evil Hoodoo)

FF: Split LP w/ Heater & Os Noctàmbulos (Stolen Body Records)

Heaters – Brown Sugar EP (self-released)

An Unmarketed Product – Guided By Voices Songs By Other People

An Unmarketed Product Guided By Voices Songs By Other People bad paintings records 2014 cs

It’s a sunny Sunday afternoon, it’s late May and I’m driving back from New Jersey with my wife and two-and-a-half year old daughter to our home state of Pennsylvania. We’re driving back from a christening. Were it twenty or so odd years ago, we might have been driving back from a GUIDED BY VOICES show, instead. My daughter fell asleep on the long ride home and I ask my wife if we can check out this tribute record. She acquiesces, we hit play and the memories come flooding back. Begin obligatory history lesson here… Continue reading “An Unmarketed Product – Guided By Voices Songs By Other People”

Various Artists – Todo Muere Volume 1

This Sacred Bones Records compilation marks the second Record Store Day exclusive we’re covering. It features plenty of bands (Moon Duo, Zola Jesus, Trust, Cult of Youth) who have recently graced our headlines, so in terms of compilations it doesn’t get much better than this. Continue reading “Various Artists – Todo Muere Volume 1”

Underwater Peoples Winter Review

Merry Christmas and hello to everyone! There is something I would like to share with you on this very special Christmas day. Thanks to the nice people over at Underwater Peoples, they have made their new Winter Review CD available to download. Check it out over here at Chocolate Bobka. It’s full of wonderful tracks from the likes of Real Estate, Julian Lynch, Family Portrait and much more. Make it snappy though, because it’s only available for a limited time! Thanks! I hope everyone has a great Christmas and a Happy New Year! Check back for some more tomorrow!

UP Winter Review CD: Tracklist
1. Julian Lynch – Es’s
2. Pill Wonder – Restless
3. Ducktails – Apple Walk
4. Fluffy Lumbers – Adoration
5. Big Troubles – Former Selves
6. Andrew Cedermark – Ad Infinitum
7. Frat Dad – Totally Afraid
8. Dana Jewell – My T-Train Girl
9. Air Waves – Sweetness
10. Family Portrait – Killer Statements
11. Alex Bleeker – These Days
12. Mountain Man – Dog Song
13. Real Estate – Orchard
14. Rainbow Bridge – Rain Nair
15. Liam the Younger – Please See