Slug Guts/ Primitive Calculators – Ugly Pumping Muscle 7″

Released by the Sweet Rot label in Vancouver, BC comes an interesting 7″ consisting of revered Australian post-punk band PRIMITIVE CALCULATORS, backed with a cover of the same song from Sacred Bones’ SLUG GUTS. Continue reading “Slug Guts/ Primitive Calculators – Ugly Pumping Muscle 7″”

Slug Guts – Howlin’ Gang

Hailing from the wrath of the sweltering sun in Brisbane, Australia comes SLUG GUTS. Thanks to Sacred Bones Records, these four misfits released their debut album in the United States back in February and here we are now. Continue reading “Slug Guts – Howlin’ Gang”

Circle Pit – Bruise Constellation

Hope everyone’s weekend went well! Unfortunately the Phillies couldn’t help make mine any better than it was, but hey, what’s done is done. Now it’s time to focus on some music, because let’s be serious, it’s everybody’s favorite thing 😉

Today’s music of focus comes all the way from Sydney, Australia, from a band you might already know as CIRCLE PIT. This looks like it’s their first official full length, coming from the local Siltbreeze Records label, which couldn’t be a more fitting home for the album. Besides this new full length, the only other material you can find from the band is either this 7″ right here, or the stuff they have for sale in this Myspace blog post.

So when listening to this stuff, a lot of different thoughts and describing words might come to mind. Some of the more prominent descriptors would be scrappy, trashy, scummy, scratchy…most of which stem from the grainy, sandpaper-like guitars that dominate the entire album. These abrasive guitars drive the songs, being impeccably heavy at times, and freakishly psyched-out at other times.

Their high energy approach also helps add to the madness, and when it’s mixed with their strangely rewarding slacker-esque type vocals, it makes for quite an interesting combination. The raspy, “I don’t give a fuck” tone of voice is definitely part of the sound, and once it’s paired with the boy-girl vocal harmonies, you’ll see how well it all fits together. This is definitely the kind of album that you will like at first listen, but keep at it and you’ll notice that the shit’s grown on you like no other, way more than you ever expected – the excellent guitar work, angsty vocals, and a driven attitude (not to mention an interesting cover art) will certainly keep you coming back for more and more.

Just about every last song on the record could count as a highlight, but the ones that stood out the most for me were Wave Machine, Dead Meat, Infinity (which is strangely different than anything else on the album), Hurricane, Another Trick, Drowning in the Dark, and Beginning and the End. Definitely don’t sleep on this stuff, because I must warn you that you will be sorry if you do. Check out the songs I left ya below, and soon you’ll love Circle Pit. And if that’s not enough for you, I’d recommend listening to Top Surprise – there’s definitely some similarities between the two.

Infinity –

Another Trick –

Drowning in the Dark –

Beginning and the End –

My Rating: 8/10
Genre/ Tags: Post-Punk, Psychedelic, Indie Rock, Australian
Bruise Constellation: Tracklist:
1.) Wave Machine
2.) Dead Meat
3.) Speed Limits
4.) Infinity
5.) Hurricane
6.) Another Trick
7.) Drowning in the Dark
8.) Shallow Grave
9.) Strange Blue
10.) Beginning and the End

Circle Pit on Myspace !
Follow Circle Pit on Tumblr
BUY the LP directly from Insound

Hilltop Hoods – The Calling

The Hilltop Hoods are a 3 piece hip hop group, hailing from Adelaide, South Australia. That’s right, Aussie hip hop. The group is comprised of two MC’s, Suffa and Pressure, and their sole DJ, DJ Debris. Hilltop Hoods might not be a name you’re familiar with, but over in Australia, Hilltop Hoods have surely made their name known. Their album titled “The Calling” was released in 2003 and it has achieved platinum status in Australia, and two of the tracks from the album were included in the years best 100 tracks. Those two tracks were “The Nosebleed Section” and “Dumb Enough”, coming in placed at 9th and 44th. This was certainly a huge turning point for the group, and it was also a big change for the underground Australian hip hop scene. With the success of “The Calling”, people began to support the underground hip hop genre, and thus, the name Hilltop Hoods became much more prominent. Most of this success came from the track mentioned above, entitled “The Nosebleed Section”. The group themselves claim that this track was definitely the turning point for their career, and it landed them countless festival gigs and show offerings, amongst other things. See what else they had to say about the track right here. If you’re not convinced and don’t really care to check out the album just yet, you need to check this track out here, which you already know is titled “The Nosebleed Section”. If that’s got you curious, make an effort to listen to this track titled “The Sentinel”, this one titled “Testimonial Year”, or this last one titled “Dumb Enough”. If you’re STILL not interested after hearing those tracks, then I suggest you check back for more tomorrow.

The Calling: Tracklist

1. Incoming (Interlude 1)
2. Testimonial Year
3. The Calling
4. Dumb Enough?
5. Illusionary Lines
6. Tomorrow Will Do
7. Laying Blame
8. Shimmy and the Gravysplitter (Interlude 2)
9. The Nosebleed Section
10. Down for the Cause
11. Mic Felon
12. Walk On
13. The Certificate
14. Hilltop Hoods (Interlude 3)
15. Working the Mic
16. Outgoing (Interlude 4)
17. The Sentinel

Hilltop Hoods on Myspace
The Calling: BUY