The Young – Chrome Cactus

young chrome cactus lp matador records 2014

Their third album and second for Matador Records, THE YOUNG return in 2014 with Chrome Cactus – a backbreaking album containing 10 metal-tinged, guitar-heavy blowouts.

Following their previous two records, Chrome Cactus is easily their darkest entry in the books yet. As a whole, the record rips through the lands of psych, grunge and alternative rock with a jarring component of head-splitting guitar noise that rattles the very foundation you stand on. Early numbers “Cry of Tin” and “Chrome Jamb” are both built true to form, creating a palpable element of textural richness within their sinister sound. It’s a move they’ve perfected as Chrome Cactus unfolds, whether it’s the clashing percussion in “Ramona Cruz” or the drifty space rock rumblings of “Moondog First Quarter.” “Cry of Tin” begins as a striped-down anthem with gritty chords and throbbing bass. Suddenly a shrill of guitar emerges within, creating a ghastly wave of melodic noise that washes over everything. “Apaches Throat” and “Mercy” brings the tempo to staggering slow-burner, providing the perfect environment for Hans Zimmerman’s slithering, snake-like vocals. Start the infection by listening to “Metal Flake” right here.

Genre/ Tags: Psychedelic, Grunge, Alternative
Chrome Cactus LP: Tracklist:
1.) Metal Flake
2.) Cry of Tin
3.) Chrome Jamb
4.) Moondog First Quarter
5.) Apaches Throat
6.) Mercy
7.) Ramona Cruz
8.) Dressed in Black
9.) Slow Death
10.) Blow the Scum Away

BUY the LP from Insound !
The Young on Facebook

Related Posts:
Monthly Roundup #02
SOTD #52 – “Metal Flake”
Sweet 7″ (Mexican Summer)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s