Violent Change – Suck On the Gun 7″ EP

Suck On the Gun is the debut EP from San Francisco noise-punks VIOLENT CHANGE. It’s also the debut release of the San Francisco based label Melters, who released the 7″ in a short run of 300 pressings.

This Violent Change 7″ comes off very tightly woven with plenty of urgency, ultimately supplying us with four tracks of their noisy, mutilated garage-punk. They do a good bit of genre mashing in here, bringing in influences from sounds like noise rock, punk and psychedelic pop just to keep it easy. The crunch of their guitars comes along with a sharp and tinny twang, sounding highly concentrated and metallic – go too loud and this stuff will blow your speakers. EP highlight “Feeding in the Dark” features some scattered guitar squeals to go along with the punchy rhythm, each sticking out like a sore thumb against an increasingly gritty backdrop. “Violent Change” illustrates the vile crunch that comes along in these songs, delivering a stomping noise-punk anthem with chanted vocals that only seeks to destroy.

EP closer “Southern Agrarians” changes the pace to a more breezy, pop-leaning jammer. It sounds much lazier and less up-beat than anything prior, which goes to show these guys might have another trick or two up their sleeves. Just be sure to keep an eye on them and see what comes next. In the meantime, you can still buy a copy of the 7″.

Genre/ Tags: Garage Rock, Lo-Fi, Punk
Suck On the Gun 7″ EP: Tracklist:
1.) Suck On the Gun
2.) Feeding in the Dark
3.) Violent Change
4.) Southern Agrarians

BUY the 7″ directly from Melters – limited to 300 !
Violent Change on Blogger

One thought on “Violent Change – Suck On the Gun 7″ EP

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s