Bare Wires – Don’t Ever Change 7″

This is our first meeting with Oakland’s own BARE WIRES. Coming from the Robot Elephant Records label out of the UK, this looks to be at least their fourth 7″ to date, while also releasing two full lengths since 2009.

The trio of Bare Wires is led by Matthew Melton, a bro we should already be familiar with from earlier. Melton was responsible for the Snake Flower 2 single we covered a few weeks ago, and now he’s back with the Bare Wires latest effort. While Snake Flower was more centered around psych, that is not the case here. This time around Melton and the gang take a more straight-forward garage-pop approach, letting the good times roll from start to finish with an irresistible glam pop edge that brings to mind names like Kyle Thomas of King Tuff and Happy Birthday. These two hits have a careful and organized focus, getting their point across without any fluff or bullshit before moving on to the next idea, with plenty of dazzling guitar licks and infectious choruses in the midst. You might find yourself giving the B-side “Ready to Go!” a few extra plays.

Don’t Ever Change –

Ready to Go! –

My Rating: 7/10
Genre/ Tags: Garage Rock, Glam, Pop
Don’t Ever Change 7″: Tracklist:
1.) Don’t Ever Change
2.) Ready to Go!

BUY the 7″ directly from Robot Elephant Recs !
Bare Wires on Facebook

Past Related Posts:
Snake Flower 2 – Memory Castle 7″

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s