Magic Bullets – Magic Bullets

For the past 24 hours or so, this self-titled LP from Magic Bullets has been making it hard for me to listen to anything else. This appears to be their second full-length, and it was put out by Mon Amie Records just recently. Contrary to what you may have heard, Magic Bullets have been around for quite some time, originally forming back in 2004 as a side project for another band that I don’t know the name of. Since then they have released two full-length records, an EP, and a 7″, each filled to the brim with their infectious blend of jangly, frantic pop music that’s just great.

At times evoking a bright, sunny, Spring morning, Magic Bullets are definitely the kind of band that gets stuck under your skin, and trust me when I say it’s going to take awhile for that addiction to wear off. If you’ve ever heard of Okkervil River before, you may or may not agree that lead singer Philip Benson at times sounds like Will Sheff from Okkervil, but that’s for you to decide. Every other description I’ve read also mentions that these guys sound like the Smiths as well, but to be completely honest, I would have no idea if that’s true or not. I’ve never really listened to the Smiths, but if it sounds anything like this I’m sure I would be interested. Maybe I should look into that.

In the meantime, I want you guys to check out these songs below from their LP. It’s going to be hard to try and resist the delightful call of the jangly guitars, or their groovy, elastic bass lines, or the frantic singing of Philip Benson that make these songs so memorable, but hopefully you’ll enjoy it. If you’ve only got time to listen to one song, I’m going to have to suggest “Sigh the Day Away”. It takes the whole album to reach this song if you’re listening all the way through, but I think this only means they saved the best for last. Melodramatic vocals and an irresistible guitar hook played over top of a grooving, dance-worthy bass line is the recipe for absolute perfection. Please check this stuff out!

A Day Not So Far Off –

Pretend & Descend –

Lying Around –

Sigh the Day Away –

My Rating: 8/10
Genre/ Tags: Pop, Indie Rock
Magic Bullets: Tracklist:
1.) A Day Not So Far Off
2.) They Wrote a Song About You
3.) Pretend & Descend
4.) Lying Around
5.) Young Shoulders
6.) Red Room
7.) On Top of the World
8.) A Name Sits Heaviest on My Heart
9.) Millions of People Running Around
10.) China Beach
11.) Sigh the Day Away

BUY the LP directly from Insound
Magic Bullets on Myspace!
Magic Bullets on Blogspot

5 thoughts on “Magic Bullets – Magic Bullets

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s