Spiritualized – Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space

Back in May I was browsing around the internet to snag up some new vinyl, and in the process I came across this fantastic website based out of California. It’s called Aural Exploits, and they’ve got a TON of music you can buy, and they’ll ship it all directly to your front door. Well it just so happened that when I was surfing their store back in May, they were accepting pre-orders for the reissue of the timeless epic “Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space” by Spiritualized on vinyl – on beautiful, 180 gram vinyl to be exact. So obviously I wasn’t about to pass this opportunity up – a chance to own such a fantastic album on two pieces of gorgeous vinyl is basically why I wake up in the morning. So almost two months went by (because the label had to delay the records) before it received it in the mail, but it just came in this past Tuesday and I couldn’t have been more psyched. I realize that there isn’t much left to say about an album of this caliber, or about an album that came out over 10 years ago, but I certainly think this record deserves a spot here on the Styrofoam Drone, let alone all your record shelves and CD players. Ladies and gentlemen, let’s get floating…in space.

There’s a sticker that came on the front of the vinyl, and it reads “A psychedelic gospel album full of confessional songs about heartbreak and drug abuse; a flat out masterpiece” – I don’t think I could have described the record any better myself, but I’m still going to give it a shot. Here we go: It all begins with the self-titled song, and it’s basically like an introduction for the entire album. Of course this marks the start of the record, but if you’re asking me, things don’t really kick off until track two, “Come Together”. With the quick roll of the tom-tom and a quivering sound effect, “Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space” takes off, and there’s really no looking back after that. And it really does sound like a “take off” type of start, ya know? Suddenly you’re thrown into the world of Jason Pierce, and it doesn’t let up for 70 minutes until the jazzy/crazy epic final track “Cop Shot Cop…”.

While listening, you’ll come across endless highlights and just about every traditional instrument music has to offer. Some tracks that definitely stand out would be “I Think I’m in Love” with Pierces question and answer vocals, and “Electricity” with it’s ability to pulse through your veins and make you drive crazy-fast if you’re listening in a car. The song turns into this huge wall of sound by the time you reach the end, and chances are you’re going to want to play it over and over again. Then there’s other tracks that are noisy, instrumentals that are sure to make your head spin – like “The Individual” which is totally dominated by brass instruments, or “No God Only Religion”, which is just a sprawling mess. You even get tracks that could bring a small tear to your eye, like the moving “Broken Heart”. But no matter what you’re into or what you like to hear, chances are Jason Pierce did it somewhere on this record, which is why this slab of wax has been praised for so many years since it’s initial release back in 1997. I’m going to leave you guys with two songs from the record, and if you’ve never heard anything from Spiritualized yet, I suggest you make that your goal for today.

Come Together –

Electricity –

My Rating: 10/10
Genre/ Tags: Psychedelic, Space Rock, Shoegaze
Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space: Tracklist:
1.) Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space
2.) Come Together
3.) I Think I’m in Love
4.) All of My Thoughts
5.) Stay With Me
6.) Electricity
7.) Home of the Brave
8.) The Individual
9.) Broken Heart
10.) No God Only Religion
11.) Cool Waves
12.) Cop Shoot Cop…

Spiritualized – Official Website!
Spiritualized on Myspace!
BUY the album from Aural Exploits – It’s on back order now…

4 thoughts on “Spiritualized – Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s